Originally founded in 1978, the Philadelphia Fury is an iconic American soccer brand that was an original member of the North American Soccer League (NASL) from 1978 to 1980. The club was able to attract high profile investors including musicians Rick Wakeman, Peter Frampton and Paul Simon.

The Fury came to Philadelphia as a response to the Philadelphia Atoms decision to fold from operations in the NASL. The Fury played their home games at the Veterans Stadium and made the playoffs in two of their three season history and hosted some noticeable names including Dave MacWilliams, Johnny Giles, Alan Ball, Peter Osgood, John Dempsey, Pat Fidelia, David Robb, Frank Worthington and Bob Rigby.

The Fury brand remained dormant for decades before Matt Driver purchased the rights to the team name in 2011. 

The Fury made its return to the American soccer scene in the 2012 season as a Premier-Level member of the United States Club Soccer's National Adult League (NAL). Then in 2014, the Fury began playing in the American Soccer League (ASL) where they made the playoffs in their first season.

The rebirth of the Fury will allow Eastern Pennsylvania's premier soccer players to play at a highly-competitive level with the long-term goal of becoming a professional franchise once again.